No, Pollyanna, No Disassemble!

Lyda here. The post title is a reference to this from this movie.

Stephanie: Oh, no – Jeez! Number Five, we’re gonna be killed!
Number 5: Disassemble?
Stephanie: Yes, disassemble ALL OVER THE PLACE!

A while back, we were walking down the Yellow Brick Road…

Oh, no. That’s a different movie. Follow the movie digression, follow the movie digression, follow, follow…

But a while back, I mentioned my grandma quilt.

I have been meaning to disassemble it for years. The quilt has been with me since the 70’s, and much the worse for wear. The edges had worn through, and there were actual holes in both the quilt top and the backing. Plus, it was just too heavy, and I never liked the backing fabric very much.

So, I was watching zombie movies on TV a few weekends ago, and I took apart the quilt. I forgot to take a picture before I did this, but this should give you an idea of what it looked like assembled:

.

.

.

.

.

.

The gray flowered fabric is the backing fabric. The blue and red squares make up the quilt top.

Fortunately, Grandma had only tied the quilt together. As opposed to quilting the layers together with stitching. She used thick purple yarn. So, I cut the purple yarn ties. Then I used my seam ripper and my scissors to take the quilt apart. I removed the few remnants of batting, and separated the odd filler layer she had used. Then I washed it and dried it all. The quilt had been through the washer and dryer a million times already, so I knew it would survive.

This is the quilt top on its own:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

With Dog for Scale, aka Disney Dog, aka Cow Dog. Sorry, it isn’t a very good picture of the quilt top. Quick, look at the cute dog!

The backing fabric was totally disintegrating – and I hated it anyway – so I threw it away.

My plan is to find some backing fabric that works with the top, and put the quilt together in a new way. I’ll have to come up with something to patch the holes in the quilt top. Right now it looks like the Zombie Army has been chewing on it.

Inside the quilt were these two random fabrics, as part of the batting/filler middle layer. Grandma had sewn them together and stuck them inside the quilt.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

For all I know, these fabrics are from the 30’s and worth something. Or would be, if they hadn’t been trashed before Grandma used them as filler. Or they could be trash fabric from the 70’s. They are both stained and torn, and I’m sure they went into the quilt that way.

Still, I’ll probably use bits of them in some project sometime. I believe in fabric recycling.

Just like Grandma.

3 thoughts on “No, Pollyanna, No Disassemble!

  1. seventhsister26

    Bringing new life to old quilts that would otherwise be thrown away by someone that doesn’t know the value of them is a great thing to do. So many time’s I want to rescue an old quilt from the store, but budget limitations usually keep me from doing it right now.
    Happy Quilting!!

    Reply
  2. KSD

    Another reason your blog is worthwhile. The act on the quilt is “Disassembling.” Here, we’d say something like, “Gonna rip Mama’s quilt up today; anybody wanna help?”

    Reply
  3. lyda Post author

    Welcome to our blog, seventhsister26. I know what you mean; I always want to rescue old quilts I come across too. And I really wish I had more of my grandmother’s quilts.

    KSD, you give me far too much credit; I just kept hearing the robot from that movie in my head. But thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

