Pollyanna Ponders Politics and the Tango

Lyda here.

I spent today with my son the Sith Master. We ate at his favorite place, Baja Fish Tacos, and talked and talked. Then we saw the new Matt Damon movie, “Green Zone“. A great performance in an unsettling and important film. After, we sat in the sun and talked a lot more. We talked about the movie a lot. It really makes you think, and explore the ideas presented, and as the Sith Master said, that is a sign of a great movie.

In the morning, while doing laundry and waiting for it to be time to meet the Sith Master, I watched most of a very different film, “Take the Lead” starring Antonio Banderas. Flipping through the channels, I saw “Banderas” and “dancing” and of course I stopped. He plays a ballroom dancing instructor who decides to teach underprivileged high school students – I know, it sounds hokey and it is. But it is based on a true story. And the gorgeous Antonio dances the tango. Yum.

And now I’m going to retire to my room and eat dinner and watch  “Under the Tuscan Sun” on DVD. I know, pure indulgence.

Movie days are good days.

But days spent with the Sith Master are the best days of all.

Leave a Reply

