Pollyanna Says “CAKE for all!”

Lyda here. Y’all knew that from the title, didn’t you?

I received the following email, which has my favorite subject of any email I’ve ever gotten at work:

From: Quiet I.T. Guy at Work
Sent: Tuesday, April 13, 2010 11:41 AM
To: [everyone in the office]
Subject: CAKE

[coworker] got me an awesome bday cake, and because I’m such a nice guy I’ve decided to share it with you all!

Cake in the kitchen for anyone that wants some 🙂

It was chocolate, too. Yum.

A few random items…

Check out the Graffiti Vending Machine.

And this: “Never Take Fitness Advice from The New York Times” from which I must quote:

Being thin is an awful goal towards which to strive. It is certainly not the goal of an exercise program. Writing an entire, ostensibly meaningful and important story on whether exercise can make you thin is analogous to wondering whether going to college can get you laid. Yes, but that’s not really the point.

Awesome!

I found that article through this blog post, “The only thing we need to lose is our obsession with thinness” – and I quote:

The goal of working out, and even of eating healthy foods, is to be HEALTHY, which may or may not mean being thin. In fact, for many people, it will not mean being thin. And being thin does not necessarily mean being healthy, either.

Okay, Pollyanna, step away from the soap box.

And now for something completely different…

I screwed up really huge on Monday, and I feel terrible about it. I felt sick, so I stayed home. I spent most of the day napping and/or watching TV, and hanging out with the dog. And then I stepped outside for just a moment, and the dog got out, and he went after another dog. I grabbed him and neither dog was hurt. But the other owner went home and called Animal Control and says that my roommate’s dog bit his (the other dog owner’s) hand. Animal Control came and took my roommate’s dog for ten days of observation. (Animal Control says the man has two minor marks on his hand, but honestly, his own dog could have done it for all I know. I certainly did not see my roommate’s dog bite his hand.)

Both of my roommates are upset, of course, and their poor dog looked so scared getting into that truck. He was just shaking, and so was I.

I just don’t know how to atone for this. It was a momentary lapse of concentration – I thought I’d latched the dog gate, and I thought I’d closed the front door all the way, but obviously I didn’t. And my roommate’s dog might have thought that he was coming to my rescue, as the other dog was moving toward me. He is very protective. (The other dog was tiny and friendly, but he could have thought I was in danger.)

The roommates are so careful with their dog. They never let him near strange dogs or people, and they would never have made my mistake and let him escape. I feel terrible that they are going through this, and that their dog is being punished for my carelessness.

I just feel sick about it.

No, I don’t think cake will help.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Says “CAKE for all!”

  1. Anna-Liza

    You’re doing the best you can with what you have to work with. Not your fault if their dog isn’t trained to stay inside his yard.

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    True, very true. His training is not my fault. But I am responsible for letting him out of the house. There isn’t a fence as they live in a condo and the grass is “shared grass” – which the other dog was on. So, to the Disney Dog, the other dog was in HIS yard.

    My roommates have forgiven me my careless mistake, and I have learned a very valuable lesson.

    And now I know why I’ve always just had cats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

