Pollyanna and the Potawamie … PommyTommy … Potimoni … Cookie A Socks

Hey, Anna-Liza here. Just finished the Pomatomus socks, the Cookie A pattern from Knitty.com’s Winter 2005 issue. I actually started them in April of 2008, intermittently made great progress, then put them aside for some forgotten reason at some point … can’t even remember when, exactly. I had already turned the heel on the second sock!

I finished some other projects for other people recently and really wanted to work on something for myself. I also want to keep whittling down my UFOs, either by deciding to frog them or actually finishing them (gasp!), so I picked these up again. I was afraid I’d put them in time out for some insoluble problem, but I couldn’t find anything wrong! I couldn’t even find a dropped stitch (and believe me, in this pattern, a dropped stitch is a major deal).

So I finished them. And they are beautiful! See?

Not my feet, darlings, the socks. The details are on Ravelry. If you’re not a Raveler, the yarn is Zitron Trekking Pro Natura in colorway 1604. Such an evocative color name, is it not? Anyway, Trekking Pro Natura is made with 75% superwash wool and 25% actual bamboo fiber, not processed bamboo pulp. Better environmentally and, I hear, better durability, as well.

I love love love the way these turned out. This is the first project for which I’ve used the Pro Natura, so we’ll have to see how well it wears and how comfortable it is for a full day’s wear. So far, so good!

I’ve got a Baby Surprise Jacket on the needles for Wee Sprite, using some pink and green mystery sportweight I had in my stash. (You can buy the pattern, updated and with extensive notes and photos, at Schoolhouse Press). I’ve also got a couple of half-done projects for other people, but what am I actually working on? This:

That gorgeous yarn is Plain and Fancy’s sportweight singles in Turquoise and Brown. (They don’t have a website, but this blog post shows a good picture of this yarn in another colorway).

You know what? I don’t even feel a teensy bit guilty.

One thought on “Pollyanna and the Potawamie … PommyTommy … Potimoni … Cookie A Socks

Leave a Reply

