A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Pollyanna’s

Hey, Anna-Liza here.

Still haven’t finished the Burning Man post(s?) but couldn’t wait to tell you this story.

I usually take the bus to work, and the bus drivers change day to day. Some I see every week, although not always on the same day, some only occasionally. The secret of the driver rotation is well-kept.

Anyway, one afternoon recently, I got on the bus, found a seat, and promptly took out my knitting. There’s this one stop where, if the bus is running ahead of schedule, the drivers will usually park for a few minutes. This happened. Then I saw the driver get out of his seat and I looked up to see what was going on.

He strode purposefully up the aisle … and stopped at my seat. I looked up at him a bit nervously.

He said, “I’ve been trying to see what you’re doing in the mirror this whole way.”

I thought (but did not say), “Well, that explains the more terrifying thrilling aspects of the ride so far.” What I did say was, “I’m knitting.”

He said, “I know, but I saw you had this big circular needle and you were knitting flat, and at first I thought it was a sweater but it doesn’t look like that … so what is it?”

“I’m making slippers.”

“Oh! Are you going to felt them?”

“Yes, I am.”

“I wonder if it’s the same pattern I made a while ago.”

“They’re the French Press Slippers,” and I showed him the pattern.

“Oh,” he said, “those are cute!”

So I told him I found the pattern on Ravelry, and he said he had signed up for it but hadn’t been on in a while, then he went back up to the front of the bus and drove the rest of the route in a rather more sedate fashion than he had the first half.

I usually get off at the last stop before the bus turns around and heads back, so after everyone got off the bus I chatted with him a bit more, he asked again about the slipper pattern, and I showed him my Wavy Lace Wrap, which I had worn that morning but had put into my bag for the warm afternoon. He said he’d knitted a scarf with a similar stitch pattern in alpaca.

I hope I recognize him next time he drives. I’d hate to accidentally snub a fellow knitter. Especially when he’s my ride home.

2 thoughts on “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Pollyanna’s

Leave a Reply

