Pollyanna and the Still-a-Knitblog Pig-Licking

Anna-Liza here. Hmph. I’ve got lots and lots to blog about, knitting stuff even, and no time to blog! So here’s a bunch of quick stuff, some of which I may elaborate later.

By way of being dessert first, as a reward to our loyal readers (all eight or so of you), here’s a fiber-related rap video.

And … let’s see. I finished my first pair of toe-up socks.

They fit my skinny feet perfectly!

I used Wendy’s Generic Toe-up Sock Pattern with  Judy’s Magic Cast-on and a 4×2 rib, with the short-row heel as described in the pattern. I didn’t change the ribbing pattern at the top, and I cast off super-loosely, so there’s a bit of a ruffled effect. I love these socks. They’re a discontinued colorway in KnitPicks’ sock yarn – I got it on sale ages ago, and the ball bands have disappeared, but I think it may have been Stroll. Did they used to have a different sock yarn?

I’m starting to swatch a cardigan for Darlin’ K, not the Cabled Rib Cardigan, which will most likely be frogged and restarted in a different yarn eventually. This one, I’m thinking of designing myself. But you’ll have to wait – I am in the extremely early throes of this and have no idea what direction I’ll go.

But I will say that Tahki’s Lana 100% organic wool yarn is YUMMY.

I’m also working on a shawl/wrap thingy called “The Pearly Queen’s Plain & Fancy Melody Shawl.” Plain & Fancy is one of my absolute favorite yarns, but it’s a little hard to find. I get it at the Estes Park Wool Market (which is where I got this pattern, too, at their booth). The Pearly Queen, aka Midge Jackson, has a website via Wildflower Fiber, “an alliance of East Texas artisans,” where she sells their yarn and associated patterns. I’m making this in the colorways Black, Purple Mountains, and Dark Magenta.

What else? Wow, in some ways it feels like a lot, but not a lot to say about it. I’m really pushing myself to finish up some projects. I’m deciding what to knit for a friend who’s expecting her first baby in February. I’m feeling the urge to try some more designing, but have too many ideas to settle down to one. I’ve also got a hankering to cast on for a lace shawl – perhaps Aeolian (which Moja is seriously considering – she showed us the pic at knit night and got me dreaming, as well) or Laminaria (which Yarn Harlot recently finished). I’m also thining about the Blue Jeans Lace Leaf shawl.

But man, that Laminaria is really tugging at me.

As a  second dessert, here’s another fiber-funny video, featuring two cats and knitting.

One thought on “Pollyanna and the Still-a-Knitblog Pig-Licking

Leave a Reply

