Pollyanna’s Lack of Resolve

Hey, Anna-Liza here. Looks like I’ve been letting Lyda shoulder the whole burden here lately. Maybe I should make a resolution about that. Then again, maybe not.

I’ve always been a bit skeptical about the whole New Year’s resolution thing. Like most people, I’m perhaps too aware of my weaknesses. Whenever it comes to resolution time, my tendency has been to try to completely reform my character, get really enthusiastic until the second or third setback, then decide I’m just a miserable failure doomed to a life of mediocrity and give up, beating myself up thoroughly in the process.

So. Not going to do that.

Then again, while the start of a new year is sort of an arbitrary marker created by humans, with only a vague corollary anymore to the natural world, there is the general awareness of an ending and a beginning, and the whole “fresh start” thing has its appeal.

Laurie Perry, aka Crazy Aunt Purl, seems to have come to the same conclusion about resolutions a tad ahead of me. A year ago, she whittled her resolutions down to two, with a good bit of tolerance and realistic goals about acheiving them. She even allowed for setbacks and backsliding, smart woman that she is. She did really well with them, too, even with some really scary life-stuff to contend with along the way. This year, she has a longer list, but I like the fact that several of them are things she is going to try out, rather than things she’s committing to do forever. Like Zumba. (Which does sound fun. About the only kind of exercise I like involves yoga or dance).

Last year, I didn’t make any resolutions. Then I made my Bucket List (and Half-Bucket List – time’s running short on that one), which seemed to cover a lot. This year, I’m thinking about a few things I might want to change about or add to my life , but I haven’t actually decided if they’re really “resolutions” or not.

Health: I’ve never done really well with the health-related resolutions, maybe because I really do enjoy pretty good health. My diet could be better, but it’s not awful. I don’t get enough sleep, and I definitely don’t get enough exercise.

I don’t much care for working out – it’s just boring. I have been a fan of Nia for years, but even that has palled on me. The yoga studio in the basement of my office building offers a really good discount to people who work there, but I can’t seem to drag my ass to a lunchtime class a couple of times a week anymore. Pathetic, no? But it’s hard to give up things I really love to do in order to make time for something that feels like a chore. Giving up work or even more sleep is not an option.

Sleep? Oh yeah, that. I’ve finally realized that I really, really need some quiet time while I’m still awake, all to myself, every day. Frequently, the only way I get it is to stay up after everyone else has gone to bed. Not getting it and trying to schedule it all for the weekend makes me a cranky girl – which isn’t good for anyone, believe me. But I need sleep, too. And I need to get up by 6 AM to have any hope of catching the bus on time on weekdays. Quite the dilemma.

Diet, well … I’m not exactly Captain Willpower. Most days I mostly choose reasonably healthy stuff, but I can’t resist at least a small sweet thing after lunch and dinner, or fried food. Or almost any kind of potato dish, especially if it includes cheese, sour cream, or bacon. Or bacon, for that matter. (I won’t ever consider becoming a vegetarian, because I can’t am not willing to give up barbecue or bacon).

Craft/creativity: I would like to post more regularly here, but I know better than to make it a resolution. I would also like to have more time to craft, get more things finished, stop promising stuff that stresses me out, and try some new things. I think this one will be more of a list of things I’d like to try, too. One thing – I definitely want to do more designing.

Digression warning: did you see that I’ve got another post up on Knitting Daily? It’s about designing, and it’s here. My pattern, the Casual Flair Cardigan, has been downloaded over 12,500 times!

Then there’s just general life stuff. Family, personal growth, community … let’s not even talk about money.

So, I think this is going to be my list of resolutions goals ideals things to keep in mind. In no particular order:

  • Secure my own oxygen mask before helping others with theirs.
  • Do at least one creative thing a day, even if it’s just one row of stockinette or choosing a pattern for some stash yarn.
  • Stop and ask myself, “Is this more important than my goal of … ?” when I am considering spending money, effort or time on something trivial or just “extra.” Remember that the answer may be “yes.”
  • Say “thank you” and “I love you” more often.

I think I can handle that. And if some days I don’t, hey, I’ll still be keeping them in mind.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna’s Lack of Resolve

  1. savanvleck

    Never thought I would either, but I am now a vegetarian. More than that even, I am a non-oil swilling Vegan, thanks to my failed heart surgery. Gotta do something to get rid of the blockage. It’s been a month now and I no longer want to kill for a potato chip. Most days!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

