Teh Startitis – Pollyanna Haz It

Anna-Liza here. That last post seems to have unblocked my creative urges. I’m not over the sadness – it’s not the sort of thing you really “get over,” you just bring it into your everyday reality more and more until it’s normal and you can function again. And by “you,” of course I mean “I.”

And, oh, my goodness, I haz teh startitis Bad. Really, really bad. Oh yes.

First, I’ve been working on the Melody Shawl by The Pearly Queen for about oh, eight months now? And I’ve got one inch – that is ONE inch – to go before binding off, but it’s long rows of stockinette and I’m bored with it. I’m still making progress because it’s great for knit night – I can talk all I want and still get work done on it. The next one or two ought to finish it, bar the blocking.

And I’ve got some summer knitting for the Rocky Mountain Spring days that are too warm for a lapful of wool: Sea Tangles, from Knitty.com, in Textiles a Mano’s Fina, a handpainted pure silk laceweight in a mostly-turquoise-with-a-bit-of-lavender colorway.

I won’t even go into the list of sock patterns/sock yarns that are trying to get my attention right now. Sheesh.

And then I started a drop stitch scarf out of a lovely, floaty mohair-and-sparkle yarn called  Mélange from Knit One Crochet Too – great to stick in my purse for takealong knitting, and yet …

 Saroyan has been calling me. One person in my knitting group has made one for a gift and plans to do another for herself, and at least two other people besides me have it queued. Liz Abinante does lovely patterns. I’ve made two Traveling Woman shawlettes, one for me and one as a gift, and most of us in the (Mostly) Harmless Knitters have made at least one or are working on one.

And then Knitting Sprite and I went to Fancy Tiger and I had to go look at the Malabrigo. Not a good idea for a person trying to knit stash and resist yarn temptation, but I did it anyway. Of course, I found the delicious Hummingbird colorway, two skeins left in the same dye lot – worsted weight – just what I need for Saroyan. How delicious? Take a look!

Yum.

I can’t stand it, I’m casting on Saroyan NAO!

Leave a Reply

