Pollyanna Prepares for Carmageddon

Lyda here. Working on figuring out what to do this weekend, since we are facing… dum dum dumm… Carmageddon. Not the video game, the LA real-life version.    No, kids, you can’t ride your skateboards down the ramps.

Of course, since I live in Orange County, I’m not in as much trouble as Laurie. But still, I’m planning on adding thirty minutes to any travel time this weekend.

Around here there can be an epic traffic jam just because it’s misting, y’all. I’m just so grateful that it’s not a class weekend, so I don’t have to go anywhere near LA.

Of course, there is one thing that absolutely has to happen this weekend:  The Sith Master and I will definitely be seeing the climatic Harry Potter movie.

Probably at the earliest show on Saturday.

The Fair opens this weekend too. I might go to look at my photo, hanging in the competition. Shiny! The judging won’t be for a week or two.

Plus there will be pig racing. 

A fair without pig racing is like a day without sunshine…

And in other digressions…

Saw this post on handeyecrafts… followed her linkto a blog all about bookshelves, more interesting than you might think, y’all…

to the creator’s tutorial for the mini bookshelf quilt.

Great quilt! I love the idea of using the text from fabric selvage as the book titles. You could also use words from fabric (folding the edges under, so it looks tidy). Or embroider your titles if you are good at that or have a sewing machine that does that. Or you could leave off the titles, of course.

Wouldn’t it be a cute baby quilt? Or a book or photo album cover – with thin or no batting. Or hey – a book bag!

I’m thinking this might be just the thing for some of my epic stash of word fabric.

It would also make a terrific big quilt for Gorgeous and Available Engineer Brother. If his decor was a meal, it would be “books with a large side of books, and for dessert, books” – so this would fit right in. He’s back in Texas now, working on his dissertation and looking for work. Anyone need a fabulous engineer?

But before any bookshelf quilts get made, I promised the Sith Master a new quilt. Maybe soon I will have the room dug out enough to start cutting fabric…

But I digress…

Our visit to Hogwarts is the important thing this weekend…

Where there’s only one car, and it flies…

Leave a Reply

