Pollyanna knits and knits some more

Lyda here.

So, I mentioned that I am knitting dishcloths. Here are the promised pictures. Keep in mind that none of these have been blocked and I haven’t sewn all the ends in yet. Also, apparently my camera does not like taking pictures of knitting, so the quality of pics varies.

The yarn:  Caron Super Soft in Dark Sage in worsted weight.

The needles:  size 6 circular (or straight needles, if you aren’t paranoid about the knitting falling off like I am)

Terms:

  • WIP = work in progress
  • Frog = pull out stitches that are unacceptable (“rip it rip it”)
  • FO = finished object
  • Garter stitch = made just using the knit stitch; the easiest pattern of all (no one knows the origin of the name)
  • Stockinette stitch = knit one row, purl one row, repeat (don’t know why it’s called this)

I started with this Witches Hat Dishcloth pattern from Convivial Crafter’s blog.

And you must read that blog. So. Freakin’. Funny. And lots of fun crafty stuff. Pren, I am stalking you via your blog. Just so you know.

But I digress…

I wanted to try a pattern, with counting and everything. I also know myself, so I decided a dishcloth was perfect – small enough to finish in a reasonable time, and in little danger of becoming a forever WIP.

So I started knitting:

Lyda_photos_6-6-13 001

Here we see the luster of the yarn, with one of my quilts in the background.

The colorful piece of yarn was my stitch marker. I moved it every time I started the next part of the pattern, so that I didn’t have to keep going back and counting the whole row again. I have “real” stitch markers, but had trouble using them on these small needles.

And after many attempts and at least 4 full frogs, I ended with this:

Lyda_photos_6-6-13 006

Ta-da!! I felt pretty accomplished, let me tell you. The only thing that I changed was the border. The pattern calls for a crocheted border, but since I long ago forgot how to do that, I did a garter stitch border as I went – 3 rows on top & bottom, 3 stitches on each side.

So, I liked that, and I decided to do another with a wider border (6 stitches/rows). Sorry for the slightly blurry picture.

Lyda_photos_6-6-13 030

After all that careful counting (and all that frogging), I decided to do a washcloth with rows of garter stitch and stockinette stitch. I did a garter stitch border on this one too.

Lyda_photos_6-6-13 028

I liked that so much I decided to get fancy pants, and make squares:

Lyda_photos_6-6-13 023

Doing this was harder than I thought as it took me a few tries to figure out the pattern. (Will post it for you later.)

I still have plenty of yarn, and I’m working on another dishcloth now.

And I think these count toward fulfilling one of my Bucket List items.

Washcloths. Who knew?

A girl could get addicted to finishing projects so quickly.

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna knits and knits some more

  1. Pingback: Pollyanna muddles about | Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  2. pren

    oh. my. god. i was googling one of my posts to link it to a new post and just stumbled across this and. I….. DIIIE!!!!!! arent you just the sweetest peach on the tree!? #1 thanks for giving a shout to my little blog and my pattern. i love you so much for that. #2 your dish cloth came out fantastic and i love the knitted border on it too. have you used it? mines still going strong. :0) #3 happy crafting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

