Pollyanna and the Return of Baby Booties

Lyda here.

Because I just couldn’t resist, I made another set of baby booties. These will go to a co-worker who is expecting her first girl in August.

BABY BOOTIES, Second Edition

Lyda_photos_7-29-13 002

 

Lyda_photos_7-29-13 001

Note how the stripes are the same. After finishing the first one, I unwound the yarn ball until I got to the dark purple yarn again, so the set would match. I did that with the first pair too, but forgot to mention it. Although I do think that it would be cute if the toes were different colors. Maybe I’ll try that on the next pair. Rumor has it that another co-worker is expecting twins…

 

Details and credits:

Pattern:  Free Baby’s Best Booties Knitting Pattern As you see, there are lots of free patterns at TLC. This is the same pattern that I used for the first pair I made.

Yarn:   Serenity Garden Yarn in Sea  purchased from Jo-Ann’s Fabrics – fine #2 yarn, very soft, colors that self-stripe on the booties, and machine washable. I used less than 1 skein on these booties – probably 2/3 of a skein.

I’m not sure that I would buy this colorway again. When I was knitting these, I thought the pale lavender stripe just looked dirty, but they look pretty good on the completed booties. I do prefer the Crocus colorway of this yarn (used for the first set I made).

Needles:  size 3 circular bamboo needles (straight needles would work)

Adjustments to pattern: None, except I didn’t include a ribbon on these. They just didn’t seem to need the embellishment, and it’s just one more thing for the parents to keep track of (and these parents already have two boys, so simpler seemed better). This time I followed the pattern and sewed the back all the way up, with the seam on the inside.

I like the way they came out.

 

One thought on “Pollyanna and the Return of Baby Booties

  1. Pingback: Pollyanna and the Game of Thrones, office version | Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

