Pollyanna Gifts Pollyanna a Gift

Hey, Anna-Liza here.

I just looked at our search terms again. We had two views on the search term “lick”. I’m not entirely sure what’s going on there–I know why we come up for that search, but not why anyone would search on just that one word. Perhaps I don’t want to know. Then again …

Anyway, if you’re getting swag from Lyda and you haven’t received it yet, and you want it to be a surprise, don’t read any further. Until after you open your package, anyway.

Got my prezzy from Lyda yesterday. And the kittehs got theirs from Tommy, too.

Those are the Goth books Marin gave to Lyda–Lyda thinks that Knitting Sprite and I need to read them. I’ve started What Is Goth? and I think she’s right. It’s a little scary, how much inner Goth I have. Too bad white makeup gives me a rash.

The only thing showing of the kittehs’ swag is one of the eggs, because they’ve already hidden or lost the other egg and the little patchwork mousie. They work fast, those two. Especially the Demon Cat sweet, fluffy little Sparkle Kitty. (Sparkle Kitty also manages to trash my bathroom every single day, sometimes several times a day, due to her utter fascination with dumping over the trash can and then swatting the contents all over the place. I haven’t yet got to the point that I’m taking out the trash every time someone puts a Q-tip or a tissue in there, but it may come to that yet. Clearly, she is in some form of arcane communication with Tommy the Sith Apprentice Cat.)

But here’s the cool thing. These lovely, handmade, quilted bags are meant to be project bags. And mine is perfect! Look!

A book *and* a project!
A book *and* a project!

So I can carry knitting and reading with me, even when I don’t want to carry my full-sized Franklin Habit tote with Knitting Kali on it! (Which is also a gift from Lyda. And which really, really needs to be washed soon.) I bet I could even fit my Nintendo DS Lite in there, no problem!

Oh, the book? A good friend, one of my knitting group actually, loaned me three of the Nightside series by Simon R. Green. You like noir detective stories, horror/fantasy, and wry humor all in one page-turning paperback? Then you need to read these. I got through the three I borrowed in about two days. Tops. Now I have to track down all the other ones, and maybe take a look at his other series. (There’s a word that needs another plural. The man has several series.) I found two of the Deathstalker novels at the library, so I can get sarted with that. And I have the two sequels to The Golden Compass, too, that I want to read pretty soon. I have to admit, I’m not such a hard core knitter. Summertimes, reading tends to take priority. Reading with a fan on me and a tall glass of mint/green tea  (the link takes you to my recipe) beside me. Mmmmm. I think I know what I’m doing once I finish this post!

And I haven’t even told you what Very Superior Husband and I did for our anniversary. No, not that (I mean, of course we did, but I’m not planning to tell you about it), but what we did on Pearl Street in Boulder. I have to, there were guitar players dressed as a gorilla and a banana involved. And fire jugglers and other assorted buskers. And really, really good drummers. And excellent sushi.

All in all, a fairly typical summer Saturday night on Pearl Street. But I digress. And I have a book to get back to.

7 thoughts on “Pollyanna Gifts Pollyanna a Gift

  1. lyda

    You got it! Shiny!! I’m so glad it is a good size. It sounds like the kittehs appreciate their Tommy gifts.

    Yes, he is in communication with Sparkle Kitty. I think he sent messages via the quilts, and now with these current gifts, he may have brought her all the way over to the Dark Side. She certainly has the Dark Side Force power “Adorability”. Dangerous!

    For the trash can – I think I would put it where she can’t reach. Or put a brick in the bottom (under the plastic liner) so she can’t knock it over… Not that you asked for advice, so never mind…

    Reply
  2. annaliza Post author

    A brick! That would do it! (There is no place she can’t reach unless it’s so high I can’t reach it, either).

    Reply
  3. lyda

    Just try it early in the day, in case she can knock it over even with the brick. That would not be a pleasant sound to hear in the middle of the night 😉

    Reply
  4. Nancy G

    With 4 (used to be 5 ) kittehs, we always keep both our kitchen and bathroom wastebaskets in the cabinet under the sink. Thankfully, none of them has decided to try and open the cabinets to get to said trash – yet!

    Reply
  5. annaliza Post author

    Hi Nancy! We do keep the kitchen trash in a cupboard (and the recycling), but there isn’t one we can do that with in the bathroom.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Pollyanna is a Bag Lady « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a comment